Scenery Scenery Scenery Scenery Scenery

Address and Contact

PO Box 485
New Cumberland
WV, 26047

Phone Number (304) 564-3311
Fax Number (304) 564-4059

County Facts

Founded: 1848
Named for: John Hancock
Seat: New Cumberland
Largest City: Weirton
Area: 88 sq mi
Population (2014): 30,112

Swift911 Update Your Contact Information
Tip411 Submit a tip

Welcome to Hancock County

Our county is the smallest county in the state of West Virginia, and the farthest north, being at the tip of the Northern Panhandle. We were created from Brooke County in 1848, and named for John Hancock, the first signer of the Declaration of Independence.

We are made up of the incorporated communities of Chester, New Cumberland and the City of Weirton. As well as the unincorporated communities of Chestnut Hill, Congo, Fairhaven, Kings Creek, Lawrenceville, Lennyville, Moscow, New Manchester, Newell and Sun Valley.

Please explore our site, which we hope you will find to be a useful tool in bringing our community closer while promoting the best of our wonderful county.